Ex-Labour MP Jared O’Mara faces charges of seven counts of fraud by false representation

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

The Crown Prosecution Service (CPS) said it has authorised police to charge Mr O’Hara, who used to represent the constituency of Sheffield Hallam The former Labour MP us charged alongside former aide Gareth Arnold, who faces six counts of fraud by false representation. The CPS also confirmed Mr O’Hara and a third man, John Woodliff, were also charged with a Proceeds of Crime Act offence.

All three of the men will appear at Sheffield Magistrates’ Court on Friday September 24.

Rosemary Ainslie, head of Special Crime at the CPS, said: “The Crown Prosecution Service has today authorised police to charge Jared O’Mara, former MP for Sheffield Hallam, with seven counts of fraud by false representation.

“The charge relates to an allegation he made fraudulent invoices to the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority in 2019 jointly with Gareth Arnold, who is also charged with six counts of the same offence.

“Jared O’Mara is charged jointly with John Woodliff with a Proceeds of Crime Act offence.

“The CPS made the decision that the three men should be charged after reviewing a file of evidence from South Yorkshire Police.

“The CPS reminds all concerned that criminal proceedings against these defendants are active and that they have a right to a fair trial.

“It is extremely important that there should be no reporting, commentary or sharing of information online which could in any way prejudice these proceedings.”

Mr O’Mara stepped down as MP for Sheffield Hallam two years ago in 2019.

Prior to being elected in 2017, he had supported Jeremy’s Corbyn’s election as Labour leader in the two previous years.

At the general election in 2017, Mr O’Mara was selected for the constituency of Sheffield Hallam.

The seat had been held by former Liberal Democrat leader and Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg.

He was successful in that general election, winning the seat with a majority of 2,125 votes.


Source: Read Full Article